Creative Commons, Flickr - Pedro Szekely
Creative Commons, Flickr – Pedro Szekely

The Scottish Greens today (22 Feb) confirmed that they will stand candidates in 32 of Scotland’s 59 Westminster constituencies – more than ever before – with 40 per cent of the candidates women.

It follows a surge in membership to over 8,500 and a steady rise in the polls with a recent TNS Scottish survey putting the Greens on 6 per cent, two points ahead of the Libdems. The same poll revealed that almost of a quarter of 18 to 34 year olds intend to vote for the Scottish Greens.

Edinburgh East is the top target constituency with former university rector Peter McColl the party’s candidate. Edinburgh has a strong Green activist base, and has had MSPs since 1999 and councillors since 2007.

Patrick Harvie MSP, Co-convener of the Scottish Greens, said:

“Other parties are tying themselves in knots with messages about the sort of tactical voting that represents the politics of old. With our biggest slate of candidates, Scots will have an unrivalled opportunity to vote for the bold and positive politics that only Greens represent.

“Our candidates are already out and about engaging with voters on our ideas for protecting public services, reforming democracy and tackling inequality. With new members joining all the time we are determined to maintain the momentum.”

Peter McColl, Scottish Green candidate for Edinburgh East, said:

“Greens are clearly in the running as we head into an election in which everything is up for grabs. We know from speaking to our local communities that voters are looking for candidates they can believe in.

“Our policies on raising the minimum wage to £10 a hour by 2020, renationalising the railways and ending austerity have huge appeal, and are vital to rebalancing our economy and our society.”

The full list of Scottish Green party candidates:

Aberdeen North, Tom Bates
Aberdeen South, Dan Yeats
West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine, Richard Openshaw
Central Ayrshire, Veronika Tudhope
Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk, Pauline Stewart
Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale, Jody Jamieson
East Dunbartonshire, Ross Greer
Dundee East, Helen Grayshan
Dundee West, Pauline Hinchion
Angus, David Mumford
East Lothian, Jason Rose
Edinburgh North and Leith, Sarah Beattie-Smith
Edinburgh West, Pat Black
Edinburgh East, Peter McColl
Edinburgh South, Phyl Meyer
Edinburgh South West, Richard Doherty
Dunfermline and west Fife, Lewis Campbell
North East Fife, Andy Collins
Glasgow Central, Cass MacGregor
Glasgow North-west, Moira Crawford
Glasgow North, Martin Bartos
Glasgow South, Alastair Whitelaw
Glasgow North East, Zara Kitson
Glasgow East, Kim Long
Glasgow South West, Sean Templeton
Paisley and Renfrewshire North, Ryan Morrison
Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey, Isla O’Reilly
Ross, Skye and Lochaber, Anne Thomas
Moray, James Mackessack-Leitch
Midlothian, Ian Baxter
North Perthshire, Louise Ramsay
Stirling, Mark Ruskell